The Imperfect Tea

‘ You are a girl. Start getting acclimatized to the kitchen’ said mom.

‘You may become the President, still you will have to cook, clean and have babies’ said mom.

Do these statements sound familiar ?? To a girl from Indian family, they are considered the Brahma Vakya.

Brahma = Lord Brahma, the creator.

Vakya = sentence.

In other words – Bottom line 😉

Our mothers start training us in cooking and household chores at an early age. Those sentences were told to me when I was 15. So began my journey with cooking.

In my first cooking class ;), mom taught me to make Indian preferred style of tea – equal quantity of milk and water, some CTC tea leaves, 1 cardamom and some sugar to taste, all in exact measurements. It took me a couple of days to get a hang of it 😉

A week later, one day when dad returned home from work and mom asked me make tea for them. Exam time !!!! I am nervous :/ (My mom is a strict mom).

So I made the tea, looked at the watch and cooked it long enough. Served !!

Mom shrieked moment she took the first sip ! ( Oh My!!) Dad was cool, unperturbed and said, ‘ Sweatheart, you made a perfect cup of tea, next time pardon the salt and add sugar.’ 😀

Today, I make a perfect cup of tea, be it Indian style, Japanese or SriLankan, only dad is not here to enjoy ! 🙂

Success is sweet because Failure was the bitter appetizer ! It is a matter of perception. There resides a happy trash can in my kitchen 😉

My blog is a sample of my successes. I wouldn’t be if not for that Imperfect Tea.

the imperfect tea

 

Daily prompt

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-spice-of-success/

About andy

hi there.....friends call me Andy :) I am a school teacher by profession. Passionate about reading, some random experimental cooking, some hit 'n' miss photography......and i am a dreamer ;) Thank you for popping by :)
This entry was posted in musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Imperfect Tea

  1. Anna says:

    Thank you for that…gave me a smile. 🙂

  2. candidkay says:

    Laughing re: the salt. I once made lemon squares with a tablespoon of salt rather than a teaspoon. My father gamely ate an entire square and told me it was delicious. Fathers rock:).

  3. Apparently, I was born wanting to be in the kitchen. My mom used to say that I sat on a small chair on the “kitchen platform” since I was about 2 or 3 and ask her questions (non-stop) about what she was doing. 🙂

    However, till this day, rotis are my Waterloo. I can make them well, but somehow I am never at ease making them. 🙂

  4. Nice Blog, thanks for sharing this kind of information.

  5. 百家樂 says:

    Nice Blog, thanks for sharing this kind of information.

Leave a Reply

