Mochar Chop – Banana flower croquettes

After being unwell and a gap of three weeks, I decided I will post something gastronomic to my foodie readers πŸ˜€

80011

Being a Bengali, people usually come to the conclusion that I am from Kolkata. Well, I have to correct them every time, that a Bengali doesn’t need to be born in Kolkata to be a Bengali. πŸ˜‰

My memories of the beautiful first colonial capital, are happy and somewhat faded. (I need to visit again !). Mughals, the British colonialists, the migrant Chinese, Armenians, Jews etc, have left an undeniable mark over the Bengali cuisine. Kolkata is the gastronomic capital of India !!

80010

Mochar chop, as it’s popularly known as, is a vegetarian delight which has evolved from kitchen to kitchen. One will be surprised to find that every family has a different way of making this croquettes. As usual, I have only enjoyed eating them so many times better never bothered to get the recipe πŸ˜› so I pestered (literally) one of my aunt to help me with the recipe πŸ˜‰

Presenting here is Mochar Chop – Banana flower croquettes, a traditional Bengali delicacy, Β which can be served as a snack or appetizer. Pssst ! it goes well with whiskey/ scotch πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

80012

Here’s what I did…………

INGREDIENTS

Makes 14- 15 croquettes

2-3 cups – bread crumbs (or as required)

1 cup – slightly thick cornflour batter

Oil to deep fry

For the stuffing :

3 cups – mocha / chopped and steamed banana flower

1 cup – grated fresh coconut

1/2 cup – peeled and shelled peanuts

1 tsp – finely chopped green chili

2 tsp – ginger paste

2 tsp – cumin powder

1 1/2 tsp – sugar

2 tsp – garam masala (Indian spice mix)

1/4 tsp – cardamom powder (optional)

1 tsp – cumin seeds

1 tbsp – oil

salt to taste

For the outer covering / shell

4-5 nos – large sized boiled potatoes (peeled and mashed)

1 tsp – black pepper powder

1 tsp – roasted cumin powder

2 pinches of salt

METHOD

Stuffing :

Clean the banana flower. Click here to know how. To make the task easier, do the cleaning and steaming part one day early.

Heat oil in a pan and temper with cumin seeds. Once they splutter, add the peanuts and saute. Do not let it brown. Add the grated coconut, chopped green chili and fry till it is fragrant and releases oil. Add the steamed mocha /banana flower. Lower the heat. Add the cumin powder, ginger paste, sugar and salt. Cover and cook for 5-6 mins, stirring in between. Sprinkle the garam masala and cardamom powder (optional) and blend it in.

If there is any remanent moisture, increase the heat and let it all dry up.

80013

Outer covering/ shell

Peel and mash the boiled potatoes. Season with black pepper powder, raosted cumin powder and salt.

80003

Assembling

Heat oil to deep in a deep bottomed pan or wok.

Place the cornflour batter in a bowl.

Spread the breadcrumbs on a flat surface.

Meanwhile, oil the palms well. Make lemon sized balls of the mashed potato. Take each ball and flatten them like pancakes.

Make marble sized balls of the stuffing. Place this in the centre of the mashed potato cake (See picture). Wrap the potato around the the stuffing evenly giving it your desired shape.

80001

80002

Dip the croquette in the cornflour batter and then roll it in the breadcrumbs. Follow the same steps for making all the croquettes.

80004

80005

80006

Deep fry the coquettes on medium heat to golden brown.

80008

80009

Served hot here, with English mustard sauce and mint -yogurt chutney /sauce.

Taking this over to Angie’s @The Novice Gardener, Fiesta Friday #88. Co -hosted by Julie and Liz

Happy cooking !! πŸ™‚

Cheers !! πŸ˜€

 

 

 

About andy

hi there.....friends call me Andy :) I am a school teacher by profession. Passionate about reading, some random experimental cooking, some hit 'n' miss photography......and i am a dreamer ;) Thank you for popping by :)
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Mochar Chop – Banana flower croquettes

  1. Sorry to hear you were not well! hope you are better! Love the pictures! yumm

  2. petra08 says:

    Am glad to hear you are feeling better! Am so impressed you used banana flower, there are so few recipes for using them! The croquettes looks delicious πŸ™‚

  3. skd says:

    I hope you are doing well now Andy. So nice to see you back. The croquettes look out of this world. I almost thought they were non vegetarian, chicken or fish maybe.
    And you are so right. Whenever someone mentions being Bengali people immediately ask about Kolkatta. Even I am guilty of that πŸ˜•
    But on the other hand how much do we know about WB other than Kolkatta. I think the government needs to promote the other places as well.

  4. I’m glad you feel better! And what a recipe for your return! This looks so good!

  5. Oh my gosh Andy, these croquettes look amazing! I don’t know that we have access to banana flower where I’m at but I will have to drool over yours! I hope you are feeling better, and appreciate you joining us with this recipe for FF!

  6. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better, Andy. I never tried this before, it looks so delicious and inviting ❀

  7. Indira says:

    Nice to see you back Andy. I wish I could eat it now. Looking very yummy. Looking forward to machher chop. Take care.

  8. Liz says:

    This is such an amazing recipe, I would love to taste one. I clicked on your link about banana flowers and found it fascinating, I have never seen or heard of them here in N CA. One of the things I enjoy about FF is the variety of foods and cultures that are represented. This looks delicious.
    Glad you are feeling better and thank you for bringing them to FF.

  9. This is so exotic and wonderful. Banana flowers- wow! Your dish looks amazing. πŸ™‚

  10. Angie says:

    The last time you talked about banana flowers I promised myself I would look for them, but I haven’t kept my promise. Tsk tsk tsk…bad, bad!! I need to find banana flowers. These croquettes sound amazing!

  11. andy townend says:

    Hi Andy, sorry to hear you have been unwell, hope all is ok now?

  12. Sophie33 says:

    I am so sorry to hear that you weren’t well at all! xxxx
    These special coquettes look fantastic on the outside & amazing wonderful on the inside! Yummm!

  13. Arl's World says:

    I hope you are feeling better! Wishing you good health always my friend! These look absolutely delicious!

  14. O Dear Andy sorry to hear hope you are doing well & it’s terrific chop

Leave a Reply

